Surrealism Critique

This is lot #129 by Salvador Dali and I chose it because out of all the art pieces, this one was my favorite. In the painting I see an eyeball at the center of the painting. There is a tear coming out of the eyeball and it forms what looks like a hot spring. Inside of the hot spring, there is a swan and outside of the hot spring, there is a swan’s egg laying on the floor. The setting throughout the artwork looks almost desert like. Behind the eyeball there is a cloud background and in the clouds, there are two elephants lightly painted. I think that they are trying convey to the viewer a metaphor that sometimes when we cry, our tears would be able to fill up a hot spring. I think that the elephants in the clouds represent deceased people or animals that are the reason why the eye is crying.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *